What Are The 5 Elements Of Feng Shui

What Are The 5 Elements of Feng Shui?

Feng Shui is a traditional Chinese practice that is designed to balance the energies in your environment. It believes that the environment one lives in plays a large role in their overall wellbeing. The five elements of Feng Shui are Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal, and Water. Each of these elements has its own set of qualities and correspond to specific areas of an individual’s life.


Wood represents both new growth, and kindness. In Feng Shui, this element is associated with the family and personal growth. Wood represents fresh energy, new beginnings, and ambition, and should be placed in the front of the home as a focal point. Wood elements such as furniture and artwork should be placed in the Southeast of the home in order to encourage family stability and positive energy.


Fire can be thought of as passion and enthusiasm. Fire represents action and inspiration, and should be placed in the South of the home to encourage creativity and assertiveness. Candles, incense, and other fiery elements can be placed around this area to encourage these qualities.


Earth is associated with stability, security, and comfort. Earth elements such as crystals, rocks, and soil should be placed in the center of the home to create a sense of balance. This element of Feng Shui also encourages closer relationships, and should be placed in the Northeast area of the home for increased harmony.

Bazi and Feng Shui Blueprint for Success


Metal represents strength, objectivity, and clarity. This element should be placed in the West area of the home in order to create mental and emotional clarity. Metal elements such as bells and wind chimes can be used to promote good luck.


Water is the element of knowledge and wisdom. It should be placed in the North area of the home to encourage learning and insight. This element can also be used to increase wealth and financial prosperity. Water elements such as plants and fountains should be placed in this area to promote mental and financial success.

By helping to balance these five elements within the home, one can bring peace, harmony, and prosperity into their lives. It is important to remember to not only implement the five elements into one’s home, but also to balance them for the best results. By doing so, one can create a more supportive environment that encourages balance, growth, and renewed energy.

  • Wood – New growth, family, and personal growth.
  • Fire – Passion, action, and creativity.
  • Earth – Stability, comfort, and harmony.
  • Metal – Strength, objectivity, and clarity.
  • Water – Knowledge, wisdom, and prosperity.

Through careful consideration of these elements, one can create an environment that supports positive energy. By following the guidelines of Feng Shui, one can create a home that promotes growth and wellbeing.


Feng Shui is a Chinese practice designed to balance the energies in an individual’s environment. There are five elements that comprise the practice of Feng Shui: Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal, and Water. By strategically placing the corresponding element throughout the home, one can create a harmonious and supportive environment that encourages both mental and physical health.

Send this to a friend